Deltas award $10,000 in Scholarships

The Roanoke Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is pleased to announce its 2017 Delta scholarship recipients. These students have exemplified high academic excellence, outstanding extracurricular activity involvement and valuable participation in Delta Sigma Theta Sorority programs. Throughout their high school years they have been dedicated to community service. The recipients, their high schools, their colleges, major and their parents are listed as follows:

Erica A. Anderson—William Byrd High School; attending James Madison University, Psychology major; parents-Eric and Tracey Anderson; Rebekah D. Brown, William Fleming High School, Davis & Elkins College; parent-Melissa Brown; Tariana L. Carter, Patrick Henry High School, Spelman College, Biology major; parent-Tamicha Terry; Shivani S. Chati, Hidden Valley High School, Virginia Tech, Biology major; parents-Satish and Priti Chati; Alesia M. Devlin, Salem High School, attending University of N.C. at Chapel Hill; Pre-Med major; parents-Vittorio and Katherine Devlin; Jaelen L. Guerrant, Patrick Henry High School, University of Virginia, Nursing major; parents-Bryant Guerrant and Ireen Loyola; Raejon K. Hampton, Franklin County High School, attending Virginia Western Community College, Biology major; parents-Richard and Denita Hampton; Kenai S. Hunt, William Fleming High School, Winston-Salem State University, Early Childhood major; parent-Dawn Hunt; Cameron A. Johnson, William Fleming High School, James Madison University, Criminology major; parents-Damien Johnson and Monique Anderson; Vanessa Lin, Franklin County High School, Christopher-Newport University, Neuroscience major; parents-Xiang Lin and Jin Hong Chen; Norah L. Mulinda, Cave Spring High School, University of Virginia, Media Studies; parent-James Mulinda; and Kai Washington-Brown; William Fleming High School, Radford University, Elementary Education major, parents-Johnny and Quo Vadis W. Brown.

Monica Callaway is local Delta Chapter president; scholarship chairperson, is Saron McEnheimer.